An Exile’s Song

An Exile’s Song
It’s been a while since e’er I saw you

It’s been a while since I was home

But don’t you fear because I love you

When I lay my head down

I know I’ll be home again some day.
It’s been all of seven years

It’s taken all my innocent ways

But I can still see your colors

When I lay my head down

I know I’ll be home again some day
It’s been all of seventeen years

It’s taken all my blonde hair

But I can still hear your music

When I lay my head down

I know I’ll be home again some day
It’s been all of twenty seven years

It’s taken all my breath away

But I can still smell your flowers

When I lay my head down

I know I’m home today

Rosaleen Crowley

Leave a Reply

